UW’s Henry named MW University Athlete of the Year | Sports

August 6 – University of Wyoming track star Christopher Henry is the Mountain West male athlete of the year for 2020-2021, the league announced Tuesday.

Henry becomes the sixth Wyoming student-athlete to win the award, joining Nick Smith (Football 2018-19), Audra DeStefano (Cross Country / Athletics 2016-17), Luke Ruff (Football 2012-13), Chaundra Sewell (Women Basketball) 2012-13) and Greg Miller (cross country / athletics 2011-12).

Established by the Mountain West Joint Council in 1999, the MW Scholar-Athlete of the Year award is the highest honor the conference presents to its student-athletes. It is awarded annually to a man and woman who best exemplifies the term “student-athlete” by achieving excellence in the fields of study, athletics and community engagement. The league notes that recipients “must have a minimum GPA of at least 3.5, demonstrate leadership, and demonstrate good character and conduct on and off the field of play,” each recipient receiving a graduate scholarship of $ 2,500.

Henry, who played at Laramie High before joining the Cowboys, was an All-Mountain West selection six times during his UW career. The elder represented the Cowboys as an individual at the 2019 NCAA National Cross Country Championships, in addition to being part of the 2018 squad, which was the first Cowboys cross country team to compete in the event since 1986. Henry finished 136th in 2019 and placed 63rd overall in 2018, when the team came in 12th place.

Four-time Mountain West Scholar-Athlete and three-time Academic All-American award winner, Henry won the NCAA Elite 90 award at the NCAA National Cross Country Championships as the top academic contender in a championship-level competition. in 2018-19 and 2019-20.

Five Cowboys named All-America Golf Fellows

The Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA) on Tuesday announced its Srixon / Cleveland Golf All-America scholarship recipients for the 2020-21 season, with five members of the UW men’s golf team receiving the honors.

Kirby Coe-Kirkham, Jared Edeen, Tyler Severin, Dan Starzinski and Bryce Waters represented the Cowboys on the roster, the five most matching UW winners in program history and placing 12th among all teams in the division. I this year. The Cowboys, whose five student-athletes took home the honor for the second straight season, tied Boise State and New Mexico for most in Mountain West.

Starzinski, a three-time All-America scholar, graduated from UW with a bachelor’s degree in civil engineering and a master’s degree in business administration. Three other Cowboys – Coe-Kirkham, Edeen and Waters – achieved status for the second time in their careers, with Severin being named the All-America Scholar for the first time.

To be eligible for Srixon / Cleveland Golf All-America Scholar status, a person must be a sophomore, junior, or senior academically in Divisions I, II, III, and NAIA, or receive their associate degree during their final year. year of athletic eligibility in the NJCAA. Division I student-athletes must have a stroke average of less than 76.0, while maintaining a minimum cumulative career GPA of 3.2.

(c) 2021 Wyoming Tribune-Eagle (Cheyenne, Wyo.)

Visit Wyoming Tribune-Eagle (Cheyenne, Wyo.) At www.wyomingnews.com

Distributed by Tribune Content Agency, LLC.

Copyright 2021 Tribune Content Agency.

About Mark A. Tomlin

Check Also

Terracon Appoints Martin Reyes Director of Geotechnical Group

Terracon, a leading provider of environmental, facilities, geotechnical and materials services, has appointed Martin Reyes …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.