The Precast/Prestressed Concrete Institute organizes a successful convention

The Precast/Prestressed Concrete Institute (PCI) held a successful convention last month in Kansas City, Missouri. PCI courtesy

The Precast/Prestressed Concrete Institute (PCI) held a successful convention last month in Kansas City, Missouri. Highlights of the five-day event included rewarding members for their contributions, electing Matt Devos as the institute’s new president for 2022, honoring PCI Fellows, and awarding the Medal of honor.

“We couldn’t have been more thrilled with the success of the PCI 2022 Convention,” said Bob Risser, PCI President and CEO. “Everyone was happy to be together. Thank you to the many volunteer members and PCI staff for making these meetings a success. Congratulations also to the award winners and new members of PCI’s Board of Directors.

A new leader was elected for a 2022 term on the board. Jim Fabinski of EnCon Colorado was elected Secretary-Treasurer. Nine others were elected as new board members: Ned Cleland of Blue Ridge Design; Brandon Farley of EnCon Field Services; Troy Jenkins of Northeast Prestressed Products; Cheryl Lang of Tindall; Andrew Osborne de Wiss, Janney, Elstner Associates; Richard Potts of Standard Concrete Products; Ben Spruill of Gulf Coast Pre-Stress Partners; Kimberly Wacker of WELLS; and Lee Wegner of Forterra Structural Precast.

During the IBO Members Meeting and Awards Luncheon, several individuals were recognized for their contributions.

Michael Lanier, retired president of BergerABAM in Federal Way, Washington, received the Medal of Honor, PCI’s highest award. He was named PCI Fellow in 2002 and PCI Titan in 2014. His many contributions to PCI include serving on the board of directors in 1984-85 and 2003-09. He was also a Trustee of the PCI Foundation from 2001 to 2009, chairing its first Advanced Technology Council.

Dusty Andrews, Oguzhan (Ozzie) Bayrak, Jeffrey Carlson, Jason Krohn, George Morcous, Glen Switzer and Chad Van Kampen were honored as PCI Fellows. Andrews is director of engineering at Knife River Prestressed in Harrisburg, Oregon. Bayrak holds the Phil M. Ferguson Professorship in Civil Engineering at the University of Texas at Austin. Carlson is a structural engineer and project manager at the Consulting Engineers Group in Mount Prospect, Illinois. Krohn was on the PCI staff for 19 years, serving as Technical Services Manager, Technical Director and General Manager of Technical Operations. Morcous is a professor at the Durham School of Architectural Engineering and Construction at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. Switzer is director of sales and marketing for Dura-Stress Inc. Van Kampen is director of the design-build program at Kerkstra Precast in Grandville, Michigan.

Each year, PCI Cares raises funds for a charity in the host city of the PCI convention. This year, more than $1,300 was raised for the Harvesters Community Food Network, which provides food and household supplies to more than 760 nonprofits, including emergency food pantries, community kitchens, homeless shelters, children’s homes and others.

About Mark A. Tomlin

Check Also

Terracon Appoints Martin Reyes Director of Geotechnical Group

Terracon, a leading provider of environmental, facilities, geotechnical and materials services, has appointed Martin Reyes …